Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello ! I have mercedes w210 e230 1995 2.3 722.6 automatic tranny . Reverse works fine on flat ground but fails at ground level change . Almost like slipping at higher rpms it grabs on the ground but wheels doesent turn .And when i put in neutrall there is a small hit Drive works well without any problems . Switches gears without any issues . Im new to automatic . Looking for help .:confused:
74A70D34-A91A-4B4C-985E-1171F1BD19DB.jpeg

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
6,368 Posts
This is what you have.
Mercedes-Benz E-klasse E-klasse (W210) • E 230 (210.037) (150 Hp) technical specifications and fuel consumption — AutoData24.com

You need to get the transmission serviced, as it sounds like it is a mechanical / aging issue for the lining plates / piston sealing rings and / or the one-way roller clutch in the reverse gear assembly. Have it checked by a competent transmission mechanic. I do not think there is much you can do especially if you are not familiar with auto transmissions.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks i will
This is what you have.
Mercedes-Benz E-klasse E-klasse (W210) • E 230 (210.037) (150 Hp) technical specifications and fuel consumption — AutoData24.com

You need to get the transmission serviced, as it sounds like it is a mechanical / aging issue for the lining plates / piston sealing rings and / or the one-way roller clutch in the reverse gear assembly. Have it checked by a competent transmission mechanic. I do not think there is much you can do especially if you are not familiar with auto transmissions.
Thanks i will keep that in mind

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Just now checked the transmission oil level . level was way above 80 degrees level even when the engine was cold . Could that be the reason ? :unsure:

·
Premium Member
1998 E320 base sedan @ 160kmiles
6,368 Posts