Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
1985 Mercedes-Benz 380SL R107
536 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK guys, I think I need a shot in the arm at this point. I’m no newbie to classic car collecting, having owned classic Studebakers, Packards and Dodges for a lot of years.

After a VERY frustrating several days attempting to tackle relatively minor issues that SHOULD have been correctable with minor adjustments etc., I spent a very hot and humid day at a car show attempting to explain to some of my friends (who drive American classics) just why my 380SL is a classic.

And I had a very difficult time proving my point – starting with in my own mind.

Since I’ve owned this Teutonic wonder, I have been confronting some of the strangest engineering expedients I have encountered, and some very shoddy construction and raw materials quality issues. Just today, the A/C blower motor failed because the lubricaion on the thrust bushings in the motor dried out and needed lubrication. Simple and predictable problem. Of course, you can’t actually open the motor to service them: they are a nice, sealed little unit. You don’t fix em’ - you throw em’ away. (Every Studebaker and Packard I have owned have had easily reachable and serviceable blower motors, not to mention other component parts which by common sense should be easily reachable and servicable……) On the way home from the show and with the A/C blower motor squealing in my ears, the Becker 612 radio blew out. Of course THEY are not serviceable by anyone but Becker – and sometimes not even them. No problem, I’ll just swap out the unit with a rebuilt and be on my way. Just a bit of salt on an open mental wound.

But of course, it isn’t just the blower motor or the radio. It’s the obvious and inescapable lack of quality in everything else you go thru just to get to the components that need servicing…..