Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Slk 230
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all, this is my first time posting on here. Seems like a pretty cool community to be a part of.
Well I have been given this 1999 SLK-AMG Sport Package as a pass-me-down from my oldest brother as he just bought a new car for himself.

I drove the car, and it was a mess. Such an uncomfortable ride. The air filter, oil filter, front rotors and brake pads were all old and I just replaced them. There is a bunch of things to do on this baby. The supercharger would shut off at times while driving. I'm assuming it has something to do with the relay. The car shakes/rattles a lot at times when at idle, so i will be fixing that as well. Interior paint was chipped off and a bit dirty from use. The door panels were coming off/loose from its original glue as well. Here are some pics of whats been done so far!

These are the parts i've already painted, I'll post up a picture of the center console. I just finished it

More pics soon.! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
2003 SLK230
653 Posts
Yes, a great car and the best colour!
Looks good so far. Please keep us (pictorially) posted.

·
Registered
SLK 230K sport, 99', Silver, 60K miles
75 Posts
An interesting project - please keep us updated and with lots of pictures. Upon completion of a restoration project myself, I wish I had taken pictures at every step!

·
Registered
1999 Slk 230
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Haha, thanks for the motivation guys :D I'm having fun with it!
Well the interior looks flush right now, it looks amazing. Just like new. Here are some before and after pics of the work!

BEFORE

AFTER

Good luck on your restoration.
Don't forget to make your brother feel guilty for neglecting a fine car.
What kind of paint did you use on the interior?
Hahah will do my friend.

·
Registered
1999 Slk 230
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
A couple of questions I had. ???