Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
CLK500
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2003 CLK500 with he cd player in the glove box. I cannot get the cd cassette out. Can anyone help me out?
Many thanks,
Mike

·
Registered
12E350, 12ML350, 08C350
468 Posts
Trying to pull the fuse out (to cut the power to the CD changer), then reinsert the fuse, eject the magazine, it may work, otherwise, remove the - terminal of the battery (you HAVE to reset everything : window, sunroof, radio code : If you never do this, I would NOT suggest this) or go to the corner car's stereo shop, they may wiggle to get the magazine out for you. Last resource : you MB dealer. Good luck.

·
Registered
CLK500
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Many thanks. I will try it.
Why do you say that about the battery? If I have never done this before. Can disconnecting the battery cause problems?

·
Registered
RHD C200K Sport Coupe, RHD SLK-55, LHD SLK-350
451 Posts
Many thanks. I will try it.
Why do you say that about the battery? If I have never done this before. Can disconnecting the battery cause problems?
Search the forums - do whatever you can to avoid disconnecting the battery. I'm not sure on the CLK, but on the C, it's only one torx screw holding the changer in the glove box - it's at the top of the bracket - and then the changer slides sideways to remove. You could then remove the power to the changer by unplugging it rather than trying to disconnect the battery in your car..

Be careful, as the changer has two connections, one "copper" for power, and the other fiber. The optical fiber is either bright yellow or orange, and you want to avoid bending or crimping it.

·
Registered
CLK500
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Well I tried the fuse and it did not work. I removed the player and took it apart and got the cassette out. But now it plays but no sound.
Any thoughts?

·
Registered
12E350, 12ML350, 08C350
468 Posts