Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
1991 560 SEL
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm finally getting into my lower priority project list for my '91 560 SEL. And with the bizarre world situation right now and social distancing, I also have time to write up what I'm learning. Below are my lessons learned from reupholstering my very worn B pillars with MB-Tex vinyl. There are several posts that I gleaned helpful info from, but my searches didn't turn up a complete how-to. So hopefully the following will help someone in the future. I'll do it in two parts, just because of the 10 pic upload limit. This was a satisfying project, more arts+crafts than wrenching. Disclaimer: I'm an intermediate shade tree mechanic with no professional training. I had disassembled my front seats before and recovered them, so have a bit of interior upholstery experience.

Materials and tools I used, plus notes:
  • 1 yard of MB-Tex or similar vinyl. The original factory vinyl is finer grain and has a thin foam padding on the back, which disintegrates over time. The MB-Tex is marginally thicker overall with a fabric backing, so I think no foam layer is needed. I sourced the MB-Tex from GAHH in Los Angeles - they sell it by the yard from their website (example here in dark blue).
  • Steel wool + household cleaner to clean off the aluminum B pillar frame. A plastic scraper can be helpful too.
  • 25+ wooden spring loaded clothespins. Get higher quality ones that don't easily come apart when you operate them.
  • Quick set epoxy or plastic epoxy. Note that I originally tried 3M Super Trim Adhesive, but it's too thin and challenging to apply to small areas.
  • Sharp knife (like X-acto) and scissors for trimming vinyl.
  • Painters tape.
  • Q-tips and/or wood popsicle sticks to spread epoxy.
  • A few pieces of wood (like 6" sections of 1"x1" or 2"x4") to support the aluminum frame on the workbench.