Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2002 W210 E320
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at these pads for my rear brakes: Wagner Brake Products ThermoQuiet MX603A - Brake Pad | O'Reilly Auto Parts

Only thing is it says "Wagon"?? Does this even matter, are the pads body style specific?

I wanted to go with some pads that won't wear down my rotars but not too much brake dust either. This is apparently OE Semi-metallic. Are these close enough to the OE pads that come with my car?

What do you guys think? I'm open to suggestions but keep in my I want to buy them locally as I need them now because my rear pads are pretty much nonexistant.:(

Can you guys tell me if I'm on the right track and these will be good for my car. I'm new to working on cars so bear with me please.

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
31,631 Posts
I believe the only difference is the pin count. You can pull a rear wheel to see what you have.

That said, have you checked your rotors to be sure they don't need to be replaced? (Same goes for the pins themselves.) If they do, just order it all online and don't worry about how worn the pads are, unless you are going to a track day soon. ;)

But if you want Wagner, see if you can find an application guide for them instead of relying on the parts site. Wagner is a good brand, though I don't know if anyone here is using them. Some of the 163 folks are, though.

Good luck.

·
Registered
1999 E55, 2001 E320, 1990 560 SEC, 2004 ML350, 2001 ML55, 1995 S500, 1998 SL500, 2010 E550 Sport zoo
7,035 Posts
Please understand "ThermoQuiet" is term for China OE equivalent pad - actually not bad pads as compared to some others sold as "OE" - but not as good as Pagid or Textar true OE.

The budget pad that has worked well when doing buddy's MB's on a budget are "Posi Quiet" which is a step up from ThermoQuiet - better pad material, still semi-metallic, lower dus that OE and frankly quite a well made pad.