Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1982 Mercedes 300TD wagon
1,048 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I have an 82' 300TD and it has been running hot. My mechanic tells me to feel the top hose. Cold. Then he tells me to feel the bottom hose. Hot. Ok, so I have a blocked radiator. So I ordered it online and it should be here probably next Monday.

Here's my question: I'm a poor grad student and I've been quoted $150 to put this bastard in. How hard is it to do? I have some basic automotive knowledge and I have done some of my own work before. I understand there will be some spillage and I can be prepared for that. But in regards to removing it and placing a new one it, has any of you done this before?

How hard is it to do?

Secondly:

This car is my bread and butter through grad school. It is my work car and I make a lot of money off what it can do. Until a month ago it has been saving me a bundle due to it's reliability, cheap insurance and registration. But recently I invested $500 to replace a shriveled up gasket in the torque converter and now it has an oil leak from the tube connecting the turbo to the oil pan. My mechanic (who actually drives a 300D) just replaced the rubber o-rings on the tube and...now it leaks 3x as much! It's so oily under there he can't tell where any other possible leaks are coming from until he cleans it all up. I'd say at this point it is about 5 tablespoons worth an hour after the car has been running. Once it cools obviously it thickens and slows the dripping.

Another concern is the rubber blow-by pipe shows a lot of blow by. My mechanic at first said it was pretty normal for a 26-year-old car (198,000 miles on it) but now he's wondering if the blow-by is excessive enough to be leaking out from somewhere?

Makes me wonder about pandora and her box <insert joke here>.