Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

· Registered
1997 SL500, 1948 Rover 75 P3, 1984 Citroen 2CV, 1953 BSA Bantam D1, 1966 Velosolex Moped
1,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everybody,
I've always aspired to Merc SL ownership and have finally made it, thanks in no small part to you guys (and gals) out there. I have been signing on as a guest for a few months, gaining snippets of information about what to go for and what to avoid, and for better or worse am now the very proud owner of a 1997 SL500 in Silver / Black Leather with Pano roof. It's just nicely run -in at 105,000 miles, has refurbed wheels, 2 new tyres, expensive sat - nav, and an MBZ registration plate and 12 months warranty, all for under £9K. So far so good, everything seems to work, so I'm chuffed as a butty. (Translation for friends across the pond - I'm very pleased) No doubt I will have questions in the near future, but for now thanks for the advice and guidance - much appreciated. Having knowledgeable people willing to share their experiences, greatly reduces the worries of buying such a complex car. :thumbsup: Steve

· Administrator
1998 Pano SL500; 1993 SL500; 2005 ML270cdi
9,656 Posts
Hello Steve and welcome..... so you'll be up for the next UK meet then :rolleyes:

· Registered
00 SL500 SOLD, 05 SL600 Sport, 09 Silverado 4x4 LTZ,SOLD '15Silverado LTZ 6.2 8Speed John Deere 318
1,821 Posts
Welcome Steve, I'm sure that you will find out that hanging out here is a priceless experiance!!!!!!! We all help each other out and hopefully save each other some cash!!!!!! Enjoy the ride!!!!!!!!!!!

· Registered
2000 Obsidian Black Metallic Mercedes SL 320 V6 (SOLD) 2012 E 350CDI Cabrio 265 PS
4,553 Posts
Hello Steve and welcome..... so you'll be up for the next UK meet then :rolleyes:
I don't know why but that line reminds me of someone. I just can't recall who ;).
Hi Steve6 and welcome in our big friendly and international family:). I too hope to see you in the next UK meeting :).