Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1976 280SL, 1979 450SL
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my car 1979 450SL is running insanely rich, and I was wondering if there was a quick way to tune the air/fuel ratio on these cars for a short term type of thing. I'm not looking to perfect it just yet (unless it's "easy" and "quick" to do), but I just want to tone everything down a notch so that I stop choking people with my gas fumes everywhere I drive. If there's a link I could check out, please do post. I'm new to this car (I had a rotary with a stand-alone ECU before), so I wouldn't know where to start, and typing "tuning" and "tune" in search engines didn't exactly give me what I was looking for. Thanks!
Erik

·
Registered
1976 450 SLC. (working, in need of paint)/1987 300E/1989 635 CSI/2004 Honda Element (appliance)
142 Posts
I would take the car to a reputable MB shop that knows about the CIS injection system.
That said, there is a way to make your car run leaner, but there are a couple of questions that you need to ask before tinkering with the mixture.
Was this something new, or has it always been like this?
Is there something else wrong with the car, I.E, a cold start injector that got stuck on open? (if so it would explain the car running rich)
Is your cat clogged?
You have an O2 sensor... When was the last time it was changed?
How about the distributor cables, rotor, cap, spark plugs, coil? Did you pull a spark plug? How did it look?
Your car is a mechanical fuel injected engine, with mechanical compensation, and very little in the way of electronics. Your diagnosis will depend upon close inspection of the CIS components and their functions. There really is no easy quick fix, that is if you want to drive the car for any amount of time.
And probably you know, but it is best to remind everyone, that a lean condition in a car is deadly, and will eat through your pistons in very short order. Better rich than lean.

·
Premium Member