Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Looking for the right one still
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't have any car yet, but am looking to go diesel in a Mercedes.
I'm looking at a wrecked 1979 W116 300SD turbo OM617 with 80K miles and swapping the motor into a 1985 W126 500SEL that has a bad motor. Both currently for sale.
Since I would have both complete cars would this be a fairly easy swap?
I am a very experienced mechanic. Only some with Mercedes.
I will probably need some detailed info if I buy them, just looking for the basics now. I realize there is likely a rear end ratio difference. Can they be swapped as well?

·
Registered
'73 450SL, '83 300CD, '01 E320 4matic
2,446 Posts
It ain't worth the expense!

You'd have to change literally everything. You'd really need a W126 donor car with a OM617 engine for all of the brackets, etc, that would be required. The entire fuel system is different, the transmission between the two cars is not the same, and the one currently bolted in the diesel car is not one that was used (in that configuration) in a W126. Once you get it bolted in, you'll need to have the correct length drive-shaft...

After all that, the electricals are all different, the suspension spring rate in the front is likely different (special compressor required for those springs) and you still have to get the instrument panel working...

So it'd be a lot less of a project to just get a diesel car.

It'd be less of a pain to find a 300D or something with no turbo and swap the turbo engine in.. still some work, but much LESS work, and more likely to give you good results without wasting a lot of money building a car that you can buy everyday in running condition for fairly cheap.

·
Registered
Looking for the right one still
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
WOW, thanks for the details akimball442. I'm basically a Mercedes noob and appreciate the info.