Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
SLK 350
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It looks like I WILL be purchasing an SLK32 from a private party out in California or Montana. Do any of you have any advice re: dealing with a private party like this? The car is at a dealership right now; they will call me later today with the results of the buyer's inspection. Assuming that goes well and we move forward, the seller will produce and have notarized a bill of sale for me. I will send a check or wire the funds and as soon as they have cleared he will send me the title and authorize the dealership to release the car from the dealership. I've never done this before and some of this sounds like I'm being a little too trustworthy. What are your thoughts?

·
Registered
01 SLK 320 MT6
4,477 Posts
guido23 - 5/10/2005 3:55 PM

Do you have a ballpark for how much escrow services usually cost? My understanding was that they were expensive.
Have no idea. May be 100-500$ ? Call a layer from yellow pages or check with your bank.

Also don't go for online escrow services - some of them are setup by scammers.

·
Registered
B6
1,078 Posts
This is just my opinion but I prefer going through a local dealer. I'd rather pay a few thousand dollars more and have someone who could fix any problems I had with a short drive. Also I can physically inspect the car and take it to one of my trusted mechanics for a look over.

I am a bit biased about buying from a out of province/state dealer just because some friends have had some real nightmares from buying cars off ebay.

·
Registered
01 SLK 320 MT6
4,477 Posts
you can also may consider flying there for weekend - should cost you more than 500$ - will give you a nice weekend getaway and you will be there to check the car and exchange funds\title - that's what i would do.

·
Registered
SLK32, ML430
6,349 Posts