Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm a noob, technically not even a noob owner yet, but am contemplating the purchase of a 2002 C32. I've lurked here a bit and have been corresponding with a C32 owner who is selling his car. I've noticed more than a couple of threads on this forum about the reliability of the C32 and various other mechanical issues. The seller of the C32 I'm looking at shared with me the maintenance history of his C32 and it was, in a word, looooong. The following items were replaced: fuel sender, differential, HVAC buttons (replaced entire head unit), main drive pulley (vibration dampner was torn), as well as a few other things he couldn't remember. He also mentioned that there is currently a factory recall on the relay for the air injector.

I have also read on this forum about ECU and intercooler issues.

So, I guess I'm asking: "What's the deal?" Is this car problematic, does the aforementioned car sound like a lemon, or are these things typical, or perhaps everything that was going to fail has been replaced on this car?

Is this thing a mint to maintain?

Thoughts? Opinions?

Many thanks.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Wow, super Forum! 2+ weeks and no feedback.

Guessing that no feedback means that the C32 has some not so insignificant reliability issues.

·
Banned
2,629 Posts
its a solid car. but it isnt a honda that needs zero maintenance. be prepared for necessary fixes from time to time. if its out of warranty, be weary. AMG's are far from cheap when it comes to any sort of fixes.

upside, extremely enjoyable car.

·
Registered
6 Posts
I just bought an '03 and it was serviced locally, so I was able to obtain all the records. Only minor problems occured and it has been in the shop maybe five times. From the history of this car, I can say it has been very reliable and mostly trouble free. I also have heard that '03's have less problems than '02's though...

·