Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just to give some background, I currently drive a 1997 BMW 740iL. I used to be an auto tech for about 7 years, and I also used to sell used cars.

The E38 is a fun car, and I love the looks, the room, the performance, and the handling (which is surprising for a 4,200lb car). But I'm currently looking for something a little more fuel efficient, and something made before 1996.

I always liked the style of the 190E and 300E Mercedes, but I just never looked into buying one before new. I found an automatic 1993 190E 2.3 within a few miles from me with, get this, 819,000 miles on the odometer. :eek:

The dealer is asking for $1000, but with that mileage, I'm sure I can get him to go lower. Obviously I'm a little skeptical, as I used to fix and sell cars, so I know what some people are capable of doing, though usually when someone changes the mileage on a car, they go lower rather than higher. The outside looks good and a quick glance on the inside shows that it held up pretty well for being a 20 year old car that has as many miles as it would have if it drove around the equator more than 33 times. :D

I normally don't care about mileage when looking at a car. I care about what shape it is in. But I've never had a car in front of me with this many miles. I will test drive it today to see how it is running and how it drives on the road. I'm assuming maintenance costs will be around what they are for a BMW, so I'm not concerned about this, but I'm curious if there are any areas I should pay special attention to.