Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1972 350 SL
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

My ‘72 350 last night started having a loud popping noise when the steering wheel is turned sharply on the front passenger side. It doesn’t happen every time but seems to happen more when stopped and turning the wheels rather than at speed and happens more when on a slopes or uneven surface like when the passenger side is coming off a driveway.

I’m hoping it’s just some rubber that rotted (I really need to replace all the rubber and seals as it looks like most might still be original) and needs replacing but I’m not able to get under the car for a few days and thought I’d see if anyone has had this happen or just knows the car well enough to have a hunch of what it could be. There are a lot of moving parts there so it could be a ton of things in my head but I’m also a total novice, so what goes on in my head is pretty unreliable.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1998 ML320, 1975 280C
184 Posts
I would stop driving it until you can verify that the front sub-frame has had the recall done. I'm NOT positive it was one of the models in the recall, but MBUSA can give you a heads up if you give them a call with the VIN. I did that first thing with my '77 450, and found that it had the "new" sub-frame installed a while ago. Also do a search on front subframe recall here and you can probably get all the info you need.
I hope it's just rubber bushings, but it's best to start big and hope it's small.

·
Registered
1972 350 SL
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
you are making me nervous but for sure I’ll check that out first thing tomorrow morning. Something I should have looked at anyways a while ago. Thanks!

·
Registered
1983 380SL, ivory/dk brown, 46k miles, dual roller timing chain. 1986 560SL, red/white, 190K mile.
7,002 Posts
Check your Tie Rods.
My 380SL did similarly and it was Tie Rods.
Most tire shops can check it if you prefer them do it.

·