Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to mercedes as I have always had VW T4's (boo i hear you say).
I was offered a 52 plate 110 cdi with 68000 on the clock as a non runner. It was such a good deal I thought it was worth a try.
I trailered it back to my local Merc dealers, Enza Trafford park Manchester, and left it with them!!!!
Next day the phoned to inform me it needed a new high pressure pump!! £340 plus fitting!! They fitted it, and then took it off again saying it wasn't that, I now needed a new ECU kit, £1200 inc vat. After I picked myself back up off the floor, the service engineer said if I could get hold of one from a breakers he would fit it and code my keys, very nice of him. I got one from a guy in Nelson Lancs called Carl who advertised on ebay £500. I told him I needed a ECU and Key reader from the same vehicle as I was informed from Merc. Took it to Merc, They put it on, NO GOOD.
Went back to Carl, Got another set he assured me was a pair, took it to Merc they put it on, NO GOOD!!!!!
At this point I am a bit fed up and getting light in the pocket and dreading what the bill will be from Merc.
No faith in Carl now!! Went to Dronsfields in Oldham Got another kit £375+Vat
took it to Merc, this time I wait outside to see the outcome. They put it on the van starts first time, yippee. But. There is an EDC light on, the kit they gave me is from an earlier model, no problem I can swop it at the weekend!!
I go to work in north wales in the van no problem apart from being in limp mode, do my work go to start it again, nothing, just turns over.
RAC man comes and squirts it with easystart and it starts.