Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At first I thought this to be a bit too "esoteric" of a DIY, but after reading several posts, this seems to be a fairly "common" problem.

Since I had a micro leak, I was forced to replace mine.

Please be environment conscious, and have your system evacuated BEFORE starting this job. PLUS<<< your system will NOT be under HIGH PRESSURE!!

The usual CYA blah, blah stuff. I am not claiming any expertise. I make no bones about it, I am a novice mechanic. My projects are based on my interpretation of the WIS procedures, and/or outside sources. Do work at your own discretion.

Attachments

·
Registered
31,633 Posts
Hey, G-AMG.

Esoteric? I think not. But I am beginning to wonder how you have the time to rebuild your W210 one part at a time all for our benefit. :)

I've been wondering what my 5,000th post would be, and this is it. Quite apropos, I think.

Thanks for another bang-up job and another thread for our DIY sticky.

Take care and enjoy the ride,
Greg

·
Registered
78 Posts
just wanted to let you know that I replaced my condenser in my 96 C280 today using this DIY.

but there are a few differences in the process.

1- The fan assembly on the C class is actually attached to the condenser with 5 nuts, 2 on left and right side and 1 in the middle.

2- The tubes on the condenser actually have very little space to get through next to the radiator, so you have to pull the radiator out of its bottom rubber grommets and shove it back, then carefully manipulate the tubes and the condenser out of its hole.

other than that, its all the same.

thanks so much for this great DIY.

attached is a picture of my old condenser, the green is the UV dye that shows leakage.

Attachments

·
Registered
1 Posts
[just wanted to let you know that I replaced my condenser in my 96 C280 today using this DIY.
but there are a few differences in the process.