Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1984 GE280
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone help me!
Has anyone found away to run the parts cd on pro 2000?
Or can some give me the guy name & number in germany
Who sell the cd I lost the contact info!

Thanks
 

·
Registered
2000 G500 NMLE
Joined
·
6,977 Posts
Gerald A - 3/23/2005 12:31 PM

Can anyone help me!
Has anyone found away to run the parts cd on pro 2000?
Or can some give me the guy name & number in germany
Who sell the cd I lost the contact info!

Thanks
Mine runs fine on W2kPro. Do you have ann original or a copy CD?
 

·
Registered
1984 GE280
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes
It say unknow os.
Then it say ninstall type is unknow.
it runs the test to see if you have what it takes for the software and it see 2kpro as nt4 and it says needs service pack 4!
So do I go get Servie pack 4 for NT4 and install it?

Gerald
 

·
Registered
1980 LWB 280GE
Joined
·
3,504 Posts
Does win2k have "compatability modes"

I use the EPC with WinXP and in order to get past the issues you mention I run the "setup.exe" program in win 98 compatability mode. No issues then.

If it comes to that, I'll look deeper into the steps and walk you through trying it if you want.

-Dave G.
 

·
Registered
280 ges 1989
Joined
·
321 Posts
you can run the application in win 98 or NT4 compatability mode - right click on the set up file - go to properties then compatability and set as win 98 or NT4. It worked for my version. otherwise try http://www.4x4abc.com/G-Class/patch.html
 

·
Registered
1984 GE280
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well I went to 4x4abc did the compatibilty trick
and now it says can't install Ikernel.exe install engine!
Know anything else I can do!
 

·
Registered
2000 G500 NMLE
Joined
·
6,977 Posts
Gerald A - 3/24/2005 9:22 AM

Well I went to 4x4abc did the compatibilty trick
and now it says can't install Ikernel.exe install engine!
Know anything else I can do!
You'll have to completely uninstall any previous attempts to install before you can reinstall it.

You never did answer my earlier question: Are you running an original MB CD-ROM or a copy that someone sold to you???
 

·
Registered
1984 GE280
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Yes it is an original I got it from germany .
I think it was you that gave me the name and phone number to the guy.

I will tey to see if there is any software left behind on the last attemps of installtions!
 

·
Registered
1984 GE280
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I have look arond found some files and remove them
but still have not install epc where do I need to look to remove all those files?

Thank to all for the Help!!
 

·
Registered
2000 G500 NMLE
Joined
·
6,977 Posts
Gerald A - 3/24/2005 11:24 AM

I have look arond found some files and remove them
but still have not install epc where do I need to look to remove all those files?

Thank to all for the Help!!
Look for a folder called "BHPS". Delete it. That should clear everything out and allow you to start the install again.
 

·
Registered
2000 G500 NMLE
Joined
·
6,977 Posts
Gerald A - 3/24/2005 11:58 AM

Well did a search on c: and found no file containing the BHPS .
Anything else ?
Check for a folder, not a file. Other than that, I can't help. Mine, which is also from a German source, works like a charm with W2kProSP4.
 

·
Registered
280 ges 1989
Joined
·
321 Posts
My EPC is CDDBC15 05/2003 genuine MB it runs fine under XP pro SP2

When the installation goes wrong and fails to run you do have to totally uninstall the previous installation. As Dutch says delete the folder bhps which on my system is in the C: drive if its still there after an uninstall – I think you have to reboot as well.
I had no problems running it – you do need to keep the CD in the drive to run it though.
Do you have the right code? for the above EPC the 460 code is 460 0265155 for 461 its 4618268487 and for 463 its 463 1763205 there are 3 models on one CD, though I haven’t been able to have more than on installed at once.
 

·
Registered
1984 GE280
Joined
·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Well I have removed all the files that I could fine.
Done the compatibility trick.
And the disk code is correct (never got to that)
So if no one has any other tricks.
If some one can get me the Contact info to Thomas
in Germany I would greatly appreciate it !
Someone on the this board gave me the info before.
I want to see if they updated os in the EPC.
or have a fix for the problem!

Thank for all your Help !!!
I vow I will not stop till I get my EPC disk working!
And will post the repair!!!!

Gerald
 

·
Registered
2000 G500 NMLE
Joined
·
6,977 Posts
Gerald A - 3/25/2005 8:36 AM


If some one can get me the Contact info to Thomas
in Germany I would greatly appreciate it !
By email to you.
 

·
Registered
1980 LWB 280GE
Joined
·
3,504 Posts
Need some regedit work

You need to get into your registry editor and delete some files there. I have the list at home. I don't want to try and quote them from memory because the registry editor is no place to be mucking about without being certain of what you're doing. If Thomas can't get you going, give me a shout next week (I'll be out of town till tuesday) and we'll get you fixed up.

-Dave G.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top