Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2007 Standard E350 / 71,155 mi.
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Whats up, Im pretty new at this, Im actually an audi guy and i just switched over to the benz world. I am paranoid about alot of things and im pretty paranoid about this.... i have a 2007 e350 (no 4matic) and is the oil you put in 8.5 quarts? thats what it says in the owners manual and on his computer...thats a loot of oil. But anyways i got the mobil1 0w40 and im not sure if my mechanic put all 9 quarts or 8.5, is it alright if he put in 8.6- 9.0 (up to .5 more)? thanks any info would be great i dont want my engine to crumble.. hopefully it will be alright? thanks!

·
Registered
2000 C280- 2000 E320 wagon
44 Posts
It's going to taken between 8-9 qts. Start Low and check the dipstick. The 272-273 engine family is finicky on it's oil level. It's neve the same from eng. To eng.

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
31,631 Posts
It's actually designed for 8 liters, which works out to just under 8.5 USQ. Check the level of course, but I'd place a call to the mechanic and ask him if he added all nine. (If so I'd personally avoid him in the future). One of my 210 buds just adds 8 USQ when he changes his, when it reaches a quart low he adds the last one. I tend to be a bit more anal than that and add 8.5 since that is easy enough to do.

·
Registered
E350 4M 06
2,744 Posts
My MB dealer uses 9 quarts for the 272's. You should be more paranoid about the viscosity, the dealers use 5W-40 Mobil 1 European formula, although both 0W and 5W are approved, the dealer states that a factory bulletin changed the 0W to 5W a few years ago. You can buy 5W from he dealer at a reasonable price.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks for the advice ill definitely keep that in mind! i dont know.... everyone still uses 0w40 like almost everywhere... but anyways do you think i should be good for now at least another 2000 miles? i dont want anything messing up