Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Mercedes Benz ML430
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am a newb to this forum so I apologize if this isnt placed correctly.

1999 ML 430, 107k miles. I have read several threads on p0410 and the air injection system. The Air pump fuse on my ML and the relay work. I checked the pump's harness and was getting about 12v across it when the engine cold starts. I was also getting vaccuum to the valves that open to allow the air injection to take place. I wasnt getting any air output out of the pump. I figure its the pump.

Here is where it gets weird. I took the pump off and hooked it up directly to the battery to see if it would work. Nothing happened. I order a new pump. I get the new pump and hook it up to the battery, doesnt work. So then I take the plastic cap off the top of the old pump and hook it the battery and it starts working. When I put the cap back on it stops. I try the same thing with my new pump and nothing happens, the new pump wont start with or without the cap on. My question is: Is my new pump no good? Also, why would the plastic cap, that comes on all of the pumps interfere with their operation? Does the fact that the old pump operates in this manner mean it is bad because it shouldnt do anything the way my new pump doesnt do anything?

I am really confused. I thought I had this solved. Now I am not sure if the new pump is faulty or if the pump was even the problem to begin with.

·
Registered
Dallas, Texas
7,698 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

You need to evaluate your connection method. You are dealing with low voltage high amperage connections. Pump at startup may take 50A. For such high amp connections MB uses 4mm round silver plated connectors. Male 013 545 79 28, female 003 545 26 26 soldered to 2.5 mm2 wire. Anythings less then that will make poor connection and component will fail to start.

Check and report resistance across pump pins. Both old and new.

·
Registered