Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1991 190E 2.3l 8V 201.985 and 2006 C180 Kompressor Estate 271.946
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello Everybody,

I just bought a 1991 190E 2.3l with 212695KM on her. It came from the original owner and has been well maintained(at least till he sold it). I am a newbie to this forum and have researched most of the archives but I still need some confirmation about some issues:

Overheating: My car exhibits all the signs form the previous forums, Sitting in traffic and the temp gauge rises until I start moving and it falls-BUT my fan works fine(turns on at 100-105) . No problem either when I'm driving, even at 120-140kmh. So, this looks like the old thermostat problem, right? BUT, I have noticed that there is a small oil leak(?) on the front of the engine in the half moon dip above the water pump just like the photo from the (Yet another) Overheating problem question 12-13-2007. SO, does this mean that I have a faulty head gasket too?

My second question is: If I have a faulty head gasket, would that explain why at a STOP my oil guage falls to 2 and in traffic when the temp rises the oil gauge lowers to 1.5 and then when driving at a constant speed the gauge is at 3? OR is this normal for the 190E 2.3l?

My third question is: My fuel gauge doesn't go down to empty. The reserve light comes on and the needle stays stuck at 1/4 tank. Is this the sign that I have to change the 'Fuel level sender'?

Thanks,

Neff

·
Registered
1991 Mercedes 190E 2.6
140 Posts
The engine temperature rising when stopped on a warm day is not unusual unless it goes much past 100. A little variation like that is normal even with a new thermostat.