Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello:

I'm a complete newbie and got a 1993 W124 E220 recently. I made the mistake of presuming everything worked properly (by the look of it) and took it on the road several times following the purchase. The car was a bit shy of 110000km. The previous owner was elderly and didn't drive much. The car was garaged and looked clean inside the engine bay, with oil and coolant both looking good, hence the presumption.

I did not know how to read the temperature gauge correctly, but I did notice that the thermometer would go above the unmarked bar above 80C. I checked the owner's manual and it doesn't really say what temperature it is. (is that mark 100C?) It goes above that bar a bit but below 120 when I drove it for a while and then stops for traffic, or parked for a while. Engine also has a slight pinging noise when it goes above that bar which I didn't think was related, but was suspecting some carbon build up due to lack of driving.

However, several days ago, when it got pretty hot outside (32C), with AC on, the AC suddenly didn't feel very cold. I did notice the gauge to go a bit higher like usual, especially after parking. I then drove on a freeway (but not a fast one, with a bit of traffic it's like 80km/h tops), and when I coasted off of it and took a look at the first light, I was shocked to see the needle at/above 120. By then I was trying to move forward to the next area where I can stop (no shoulder), and any acceleration would result in engine pinging. It took me about another two minutes? to coast about 150m to a stop.

I shut off the engine but left it on acc. was expecting steams everywhere, but when I opened the hood, the steam was coming off the little vent tube on the auxiliary tank. The electrically motorized fan in the front was going full blast. There's also a faint metallic smell, like wires burning, or brake pads overheating. Any idea what that might be?