Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The out side temp reading on my wife's 2000 E 320 has some pixels out. The temp is accurate but the numbers are hard to read. Is this just a bulb or does the entire gauge have to be replaced and if so, at what cost.
This car has the strangest problems!
 

·
Registered
1997 E420 Sport
Joined
·
262 Posts
I´ve read in this forum that if the display screen is wrong you need to change the whole cluster[/b
So, if this is true, you´d better get use to the missing pixels.[:(]
What are the other problems?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Today the temp started reading correctly on its own.
AS for the other problems:
1. Cracked dash replaced
2. Rear window regualtor replaced
These seem to be normal for this model.
Also she sometimes gets crazy readings on the computer, but they seem to go away on their own.
This car is a late 2000 E320 with all the options and only 26000 miles
 

·
Registered
SLK320, MKV Jetta TDI, Mini Cooper S, Lincoln Mark LT
Joined
·
1,712 Posts
Do you have the extended warenty? If the display is not working, you can claim that it is defective and have it replaced. You might find a cluster from a salavage yard with about the same miles and swap it out or have it programmed to set it to your actual miles.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I really do want to change the cluster for this minor problem. I do have an extended warranty. Problem is this vehicle is a late 2000 model with only 26000 miles. If I start to change instrument clusters it may effect resale value, unless the mileage can be certified by a dealer.
 

·
Registered
1997 E420 Sport
Joined
·
262 Posts
Desert Benz:
After reading some posts, looks like the missing pixels is a connection problem that could be solved cleaning the contacts of the connector.
Mine have started to appear and dissapear in a horizontal line fashion. When I move the cluster a little or hit it softly with my hand the pixels seem to change the pattern of on and off. That makes me think that a loose connection is the culprit indeed.
I´ll take the cluster out this weekend and let know in the forum the results of cleaning the contacts.
 

·
Registered
1997 E420 Sport
Joined
·
262 Posts
I didn´t wait to the weekend and took the cluster out yesterday.
I sprayed liberally electronic contact cleaner over the display connection and the problem is gone.
No more missing pixels.
 

·
Registered
2001 E 430 4matic
Joined
·
14 Posts
How exactly do you access the display connection?

I am concerned that in the process of fixing my outside temp display I'll break something important like the center guage. I have reviewed the posts and have been unable to obtain this information.
 

·
Registered
2001 E 430 4matic
Joined
·
14 Posts
Well I got the information off another web site and sprayed the contacts without success. Is there a special contact cleaner that I should use? The + sign and the 3rd digit plus °F are no problem to read. It's the second digit that comes in and out of view.
 

·
Registered
2001 W210
Joined
·
45 Posts
Hi Champagne,

I am facing the same problem with my W210!

Where could you find the information on how to remove the instrument cluster? I want to give it a try..

Thanks!
 

·
Registered
2001 E 430 4matic
Joined
·
14 Posts
http://web.infoave.net/~ontheriver/automobiles/w126ip.htm

Try this site. My understanding is that the instructions apply to most MBs. This is what we did.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Well I too had the garbled cluster pixel problem so I took it apart to have a look. I placed some rubber spacers just above the ribbon cables so they'd make better contact and it worked perfectly.

One problem though. I lost the entire center illumination of the cluster -- both of the large bulbs don't light up and they haven't burned out either. So I &^%$#&'ed something up.

Fixed one problem and created another. If anyone knows a fix or has experienced this problem please chime in.

Thanks :(
 

·
Registered
2000 4Matic Estate E320S4 210.282
Joined
·
824 Posts
Desert Benz said:
I really do want to change the cluster for this minor problem. I do have an extended warranty. Problem is this vehicle is a late 2000 model with only 26000 miles. If I start to change instrument clusters it may effect resale value, unless the mileage can be certified by a dealer.
I believe you'll keep the same mileage reading on the new cluster. Ask the dealer to confirm.

Cheers.
 

·
Registered
92 500SEL to 01 E320T current 2014 lexus LS460
Joined
·
3,886 Posts
I have a 01 E nd it appears the temp readout is fine but the illumination becomes intermittent. This is the third time in six months that I had to give it a flick with my finger and it comes back on. I dont know if it is a bulb or not, but it does dim.I have the extended warranty for another four years. There were clusters with poor quality, and replacement clusters come from MB coded to the correct mileage, which the dealer has to certify. There are also companies who will repair them
http://www.beckmanntechnologies.com/.
 

·
Registered
10 GLK 350 4Matic
Joined
·
704 Posts
Search the site. This has been posted a few times.

The cluster is a tight friction fit. Usually pulled out with a pair of thin flat tools that slip in at the edge -- and have a hook on the end to grab the backside.

You can find them on ebay. It's a tight fit too. If you're uncomfortable with the high force, or afraid of breaking something....it's dealer or favorite mechanic time

BTW - Replacing the cluster doesn't affect resale. The cluster is programmed by DBC to your car with the exact same readings when its replaced. That's why you need a dealer to do it. It looks identical to the old one - including the odo number to the tenth. Only your wallet looks different
 

·
Registered
E-350/2010 4-MATIC (E-320/2000 R.I.P.)
Joined
·
378 Posts
I have had this problem with my E-320 2000 when I first purchased the car, I thought is was just a bulb to my dismay, I was informed that the instrument cluster was failing and needed to be replaced. It cost almost 1k, to fix, the dealer gave me the runaround and I almost ended up taking them to court; but didn't want to go through the head ache..... to make a long story short they agreed to pay for half the cost; because the warrenty I purchased with the car did not cover it.

The plot thickens after mercedes took the car to repair it they told me the instument cluster had to come from germany and the last documented milage the had on the vehicle was the milage when I first purchased the car 58,200 I had already put about 2 to 3k on it before I had the cluster change.. When I received the car back it had the origenal milage that was on the car when I first purchased it 58,200 so my car really has about 2,500 more than the milage says! I dont know if thats good or bad!
 

·
Premium Member
05 500
Joined
·
6,461 Posts
KADE said:
...
The plot thickens after mercedes took the car to repair it they told me the instument cluster had to come from germany and the last documented milage the had on the vehicle was the milage when I first purchased the car 58,200 I had already put about 2 to 3k on it before I had the cluster change.. When I received the car back it had the origenal milage that was on the car when I first purchased it 58,200 so my car really has about 2,500 more than the milage says! I dont know if thats good or bad!
That's the most retarded thing a dealer can do. Why didn't they just look at your mileage and program the new cluster accordingly. when I had mine replaced, it was programmed to near the exact mileage, not the last knpwn mileage.
 

·
Registered
2002 E320
Joined
·
41 Posts
I just fixed mine. Both my time and temp displays were so garbled you couldn't read them. I removed the cluster and dissasembled it, loosened the circuit board just enough to slip a little strip of plastic under the pressure pad for the ribbon cable and reassembled everything. Now both diplays read perfectly. The whole job took maybe a half hour from removal to re-install.

I was planning to take pics, but then I forgot to once I got into it.
 

·
Registered
2002 2.6 E240
Joined
·
3 Posts
Instrument Cluster

JP1 said:
I just fixed mine. Both my time and temp displays were so garbled you couldn't read them. I removed the cluster and dissasembled it, loosened the circuit board just enough to slip a little strip of plastic under the pressure pad for the ribbon cable and reassembled everything. Now both diplays read perfectly. The whole job took maybe a half hour from removal to re-install.

I was planning to take pics, but then I forgot to once I got into it.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:) I used the above method from JP1 to correct my W210 Temp and Clock displays.
It worked a treat.
Thanks to JP1 for info. :thumbsup:
 
1 - 20 of 56 Posts
Top