Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all... been over a decade since I posted here, new account and new car. Wanted to run this by the epxerts. Since this is definitely pertinent, let me get this out of the way... I can buy this car today for $10k

86' 560SL with 124k miles on it. It's in really really good shape. No damage, paint is still good (could use a polish), chrome is good, mechanically it drives flawlessly. I've been driving it for almost two months, probably put 500 miles on it give or take. It wasn't to demo it, I just ended up storing it for someone at my place and he said 'drive it like you stole it'. Cloth top is in good shape, as is the hardtop.

Only thing on the car that doesn't work is the AC, it needs recharging and I can't find anyone in Tampa that will/can do it... which leads me to my questions.

1) The blower works, but it is SUPER low pressure. The heating element works, but even then, you can barely feel it. Is that something that can be fixed/upgraded (the blower) assuming I recharged the system with R12?

2) Is there anything on these cars that are prone to needing replacing? Current owner replaced the power steering pump, all the seals around the windows/top. Not sure if I need to have anything else looked at

3) The radio. If I bought this I would 100% put a much better aftermarket radio in the car and upgrade the speakers. I have no clue how many total speaker mounts there are (two work), but I'm curious if anyone has upgraded their audio to something that sounds really good and if so, did you insulate the trunk and install any type of low freuquency subs in it for some added 'umph'.

4) Is $10k a good deal for this car and assuming it runs and hasn't been in an accident (it hasn't - he's owned it since the 90s), would you jump on this?

Thanks all.

·
R/C107 Moderator
1986 560SL: '84 500SL: '84 280SL 5 speed: other 107s
32,153 Posts