Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Opinions before I buy this 190D 2.5?

1439 Views 3 Replies 4 Participants Last post by  Nate
Hi,

Sorry about the length of this post, but if any of you can help with any of these points I'd really appreciate it.

I've been reading about the mighty Benz for some time, but now have the funds to buy me one. I'm new to Mercs, but not to mechanics or the joys of German engineering.

I went to look at a 190D 2.5 today. I got stuck in traffic and only made it there just before it got dark.

It's a basic model- 4 door, no A/C, hand crank windows all round, but has central locking, electric sunroof and passenger mirror. 188K Miles. £1850.
FMBSH up to 160K Miles.

It looked clean enough, paint was shiny and exterior complete. The interior is a little grubby, but complete and without rips/ cracks.

I took her for a drive and everything felt tight enough apart from the gear shift, which was real sloppy. One of the reasons the guy is selling it is because his wife was finding it hard to find reverse. It was hard, but possible. Generally the shift felt loose, as though the linkage was worn or out of adjustment (if it is adjustable). What are people's thoughts on this? Is it something to be wary of, or an easy fix?

Also, when changing gear while accelerating hard(ish) there was a knock from under the floor when taking my foot off the clutch pedal. My immediate thought was that this was the rear engine/ gearbox mount. Is this likely? If so, how bad is the cost/ time to repair? The PO has replaced the 2 side mounts recently.

Pulling away could be a little juddery... The car has sat for 3 months- could it be that the clutch is on its way out, or just bad fuel or something? I only noticed this once, the car wasn't warm and the PO said he hadn't noticed it before. If I need a new clutch how bad is the cost/ time?