Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Intro:
Hello all, its time to start my revival thread as I need some help. For payment I have pictures!? I am a hobby mechanic, I buy old unloved cars and fix them for fun. Yep, I said fun.

Bought this for $500 about a month ago. PO had NO clue what a car was, he thought it had 6 cylinders.. luckily he didn't have it long. Not sure about any previous history, zero records.
From the ad:"Clean inside, out. 160,000 miles. Runs great! Looking to trade for a truck, or suv. 35 mpg on highway. 27 city"
...Yeah.

The GOOD:
160k miles
Suspension is quiet, good? Maybe, will be determined at a later date. Its good though. I think.
Zero rust
Nice wheels, not sure what they are from though.
Looks completely original/oem parts everywhere except radio head-unit and wheels.

Immediate problems:
Goes into limp mode as soon as it gets warm (60*-80*C)
Original wiring harness, upper and lower
Original Throttle Actuator
P/S makes some terrible noises
Nothing from the blower motor for the HVAC, and the 30A strip fuse box is badly burned.(WTF happened there I wonder? I think the PO 'hardwired' it and it melted)
Check/replace timing chain guides
I need to source some metal oiler tubes. (Hint Hint ;)
Valve Cover gaskets

Less immediate problems:
Oil was last changed..? no idea. probably a good idea to change it.
Aftermarket radio, non-working condition. not a priority.
2 bald tires (what did the PO while it Did run i wonder?)
Interior is half shot, seats are TOAST and headliner is fallen. The rest seems serviceable, just a couple cracks in the wood trim around the window switches.
Paint is partially baked off on the drivers doors right under the windows and the trunk has no paint left on the top.
Lens cover broken on passenger fog light. Going to attempt to replace with 2 updated all-glass units.
No lights behind climate control or window switches?

Things I have done or am on top of: