Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Could someone direct me to a good source for information as far as what my capabilities / limitations are with running Xentry on the Openport 2.0 interface. I'm new to MB's and would like to learn as much as possible about this topic.

·
W221 & Audio Moderator
558 Posts
I do not own an OpenPort interface, so if I am incorrect anyone that does please chime in. To the best of my knowledge, the OpenPort 2.0 interface will allow Xentry to communicate with your car using the J2534 standard. This will generally communicate with vehicles 2003 and newer that use OBD2 for diagnosis. Any vehicle using a 38-pin connector or HHTWIN for diagnosis will not work. You ideally use Xentry Pass-thru with these devices, and a subscription is available from Daimler, however it is limited to programming and reading faults from the engine ECU and transmission TCU up to 2017. 2018 and newer vehicles are given full diagnostic capabilities.

The Xentry Pass-Thru software subscription capabilities differ depending on your country. The above description applies to US customers. EU customers have time credits and from my understanding full diagnostic/SCN coding capabilities - not only 2018 and newer.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I do not own an OpenPort interface, so if I am incorrect anyone that does please chime in. To the best of my knowledge, the OpenPort 2.0 interface will allow Xentry to communicate with your car using the J2534 standard. This will generally communicate with vehicles 2003 and newer that use OBD2 for diagnosis. Any vehicle using a 38-pin connector or HHTWIN for diagnosis will not work. You ideally use Xentry Pass-thru with these devices, and a subscription is available from Daimler, however it is limited to programming and reading faults from the engine ECU and transmission TCU up to 2017. 2018 and newer vehicles are given full diagnostic capabilities.