Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1985 380SL
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at this and I wanted to start with changing the oil and tune-up of my 1985 380SL. I think the oil drain plug is a 14mm hex drive. Am I right? Also, what metric size spark plug socket should I get to pull the plugs??

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,920 Posts
You might want to put your location and car info in your profile. It helps to answer questions. I have my oil changed cause I hate to take the used oil for disposal so I don't know about the drain plug. My spark plugs are 13/16ths.

·
Premium Member
22,841 Posts
Dugald said:
Is there such a thing as a metric plug?

The modern spark plug is an oddity where dimensions are concerned. 'Standard' wrench sizes of either 5/8 or 13/16 are universal for modern spark plugs. Yet the threaded portion is either 14mm or 18mm. How the metric with standard combination gained such universality I know not why.

·
Outstanding Contributor , Bob's Your Uncle!
83 280 SL- 5 speed-The PIG
31,066 Posts
The modern spark plug is an oddity where dimensions are concerned. 'Standard' wrench sizes of either 5/8 or 13/16 are universal for modern spark plugs. Yet the threaded portion is either 14mm or 18mm. How the metric with standard combination gained such universality I know not why.
It's a compromise between the Dimension Lords. God love the Canadian Gov't when they switched to Metric. I love owning two sets of tools. Times three tool boxes. Thankfully, my fourth box at Air Chaos only requires SAE.

·
Registered
1982 380SL
114 Posts
I think the oil drain plug is a 14mm hex drive. Am I right?

Thanks!
Yes, you need a 14mm hex driver for the oil drain plug. You can get them at Autozone, NAPA or SK HandTools.

·
Registered
1985 380SL
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·