Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Noob here with my first post my apologies if some of the questions are basic.

I was perusing the internet when I saw a cult following on these and how solid and built like a tank they were. And many claim that they would run forever. I wanted to find out if this holds true for both the gas and diesel versions. Trying to look for a reliable and comfortable sedan/stationwagon to add to the stable. I know the diesel probably gets better fuel economy, but do the gas models last just as long? I'll probably be looking for the 95 model years in hopes that issues were ironed out in the final year.

Also, I'm trying to find out all the different models. And which are more highly touted. In reading some of the posts, I'm getting lost through all the number numbers. Is there a reference page that breaks down all the different W124 models?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,749 Posts
Let me welcome you, and be the first to thank you for being able to write decently.

Wow...'peruse'...I thought I was the only person who typed like that.

I have to admit, I like my '95 gasoline-engined car, though I'd have a diesel if I could have found one. Even with a city commute (Fort Worth), I get 22-24 MPG. Since I'm working further away than I was when I purchased the car, but with less traffic, I think I'm going to break 26 on this tank. It's 90% freeway, and traffic is pretty light most of the way...thankfully.

The diesel, while I love 'em, people who are selling them think they have the value of gold. Now, if gasoline goes back to $4.25/gallon, yeah, they're worth a bit more, but the gasoline engines last just as long, really (edit: i.e. longer than you probably want to look at it). I have 168K on mine, and I figure the engine is about broken in. The large oil pan, I think, has more to do with it than people realize.