Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2006 CLK350
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys im new to benzworld and already learned a lot of things and wanted to say thanx... Anyway i own a 2006 clk350 and optioned not to buy the bi-xenon headlights, thinking i could get aftermarket HID's... well when i brought the car to the local shop they told me that they could put them in but the car would show a code that the headlights were out everytime i put the lights on... I wanted to know if i bought the OEM headlights with the bi-xenon lights would it be the same problem? Is it plug and play? I read that you must have the headlight washer option to have those lights? is that true? or can i just buy the lights (and get ripped off) and have them work just fine.
thanx

·
Registered
108 Posts
your best bet would be to buy the OEM HID lights. You then have to get the dealer to use the Star Diag to change the volts for the HID lights and it will work fine.

·
Registered
222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
10,429 Posts
Here in Europe the headlight washers and automatic self leveling are mandatory for xenon lights.

I've understood that Star Diag programming is necessary, not only because of the warning indicator issue but also to avoid some lights flickering issues (where I don't remember the reason/explanation why).

·
Registered
2006 CLK350
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So will i have that problem too? Or is that a problem before the Star Diag is performed?

·
Registered
108 Posts
yea you will have that problem before star Diag. After they go in to Star Diag and change that 1 setting no problems

·
W210 Moderator
99 E320
5,289 Posts
the error code has to do with the fact that the lighting system of the HID
appears to the car computer as 'bulb out'. what causes this upstream is the
higher resistance of the HID system. it is possible to go HID retrofit and *not*
cause the error message, either through serendipity or luck in having selected