Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
S320
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I have recently bought a 2003 S320, and I was told that I needed to get either a Nokia 6210 or a 6310 phone to fit the built in car kit. When I plug the phone in, I sometimes get the message "Initialising Phone, and nothing else. If I have the engine running, and I try and connect the phone into the cradle, I get the message "tel not plugged". Am I doing something silly, does this combination really work, or have I got the wrong handset, any advice would be most welcome, and appreciated.
 

·
Registered
SLK 320 / CLK 320
Joined
·
11 Posts
I have an '03 CLK using the Nokia 6310i for 18 month now. I haven't had the problem you describe. Suggest you could check the phone cradle is properly connecting into the car's socket, and if that fails, get the software checked out by the dealer.
 

·
Registered
W124/230E, W202 C240 stationwagon, W210 E280 facelift
Joined
·
366 Posts
Try to ask the service workshop if the phone software version is suitable for system of your vehicle.[:)]
 

·
Registered
W203 modified
Joined
·
2,033 Posts
VicMistry - 5/15/2005 4:23 AM

Hi,
I have recently bought a 2003 S320, and I was told that I needed to get either a Nokia 6210 or a 6310 phone to fit the built in car kit. When I plug the phone in, I sometimes get the message "Initialising Phone, and nothing else. If I have the engine running, and I try and connect the phone into the cradle, I get the message "tel not plugged". Am I doing something silly, does this combination really work, or have I got the wrong handset, any advice would be most welcome, and appreciated.
PRESS *#0000# on your phone and see if the version number is below 5.0 That might explain the issue.

Most Nokia 6310i phones for Benz have the latest revision firmware at around 5.5. For older phones the version number can be lower.

As far as I know nothing below 4.5 works
 

·
Registered
CL 55
Joined
·
3 Posts
Hi VicMistry

Did you resolve this issue. I have exactly the same problem. Have access to an old 6210 and this works fine. 6310i....same issue as you. Been told by benz service mechanic that a 6310i should work.

Cheers
 

·
Registered
2000 SL320, 2003 E320
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hi,

as far as I know it's a software compatability problem. Car needs to have installed software for the specific model of phone i.e. even 6310 software can give problems with a 6310i phone. Dealer should be able to upgrade specific software.
 

·
Registered
W124/230E, W202 C240 stationwagon, W210 E280 facelift
Joined
·
366 Posts
dealers cannot upgrade the phone software, you have to bring the phone like Nokia to Nokia service center for the software upgrade.
 

·
Registered
2000 SL320, 2003 E320
Joined
·
7 Posts
It's not the phones software that needs upgrading it's the cars. The phone's software would need to be downgraded which I don't think can be done.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top