Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2003 230 Previous 200 & AMG 32,
464 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Now close to end of 2nd year of opting for an extended warranty. This year was real expensive at $1800 as it was the MB service plus, basically covers everything inc servicing bar tyres, even covers MOT.

I'm no mechanic but was tempted not to renew this year.

However just got an eye watering $7,000 + dealer estimate for work on my 2003 230 38k miles:-

Amongst other things also:-
New brakes all round.
New supercharger (old one noisy).
Boot seal adjustment.
New wiring loom due to oil leakage triggering sensor light.
MOT
Wipers

All coverd thankfully. Hoping to squeeze my main service in at no cost before contract ends that would have been another $1400.

·
Registered
464 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Now the ECU is to be replaced along with te contaminated wiring loom another $2,000! up to almost $10,000 dollars.

Anyone wanting their car in top condition with mid aged engines should seriously think about a good quality warranty, the engine may be bullet proof but its all those other things that soon mount up expensively.

·
Registered
2002 SLK 32 AMG, bone stock. 1987 190E 2.3-16 valve (destroyed). 2005 E320 new toy.
14,926 Posts
With the cost of operation of your car, it would seem that either your car is a "lemon" or the dealer has found a "soft touch".
For a car that is only 5 years old, repair costs in the range of $11,000 over a two year period are.......... well let's just say excessive would be an understatment.

What kind of mileage do you have on the car?

·
Registered
SLK 320 BRABUS Modded
2,398 Posts
RIP OFF

M8 I would go to an indy..Ask on here someone may have a sc for you or know whats up with yours, Why the fcuk would it need new brakes, I could see disks, but calipers, Do your brakes feel good ?

Where are you in england ?

·
Registered
464 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Hi Bazzle and Bruce,