Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, i am a mechanic in australia and have been given the task of repairing a 300 G wagon, quite rare down under, i have searched and not come up with the info i require, but then again i dont know all the information as to its current specs.

the unit i am working on was a deisel with manual trans, it has undergone an engine swap and currently has the v8 and auto out of 450sel, the problem now is that the vehicle is revving quite high at 60 mph, we need to up the diff ratio from std, i am unsure of what they are now and won't know for a couple of weeks, i realize i can fitt biger tyres to up the ratio but the owner doesn't whish to do that.

what diff ratios are available? are they the same as any of the benz sedans? and where is some good sources to get them from? i dont mind second hand, i have to ship them a long way, price is probably the biggest factor.

thankyou in advance paul

·
Registered
1980 240GD
55 Posts
Tech specs for all models here:

http://www.g4rce.net/engl/models.html

Select the chassis type (460 or 463; dependent on the year of the vehicle) and then click the link for "Technical Data" under the 300.

·
Registered
'80 230G SWB, '03 G500, '80 280GE LWB (sold), '98 Jeep Wrangler Sahara (sold)
708 Posts
Before Dutch does his customary "ass-u-me" spiel, you'll have to let us know what g-type you have (460 or 463). This will better help us, help you.

GIINHESSEN - 2/2/2005 7:27 AM
Select the chassis type (460 or 463; dependent on the year of the vehicle) and then click the link for "Technical Data" under the 300.
The problem is that his vehicle is no longer a 300 but a 450, which means he needs to find higher gears (numerically lower). Not exactly sure about finding lower gears for a 460, but if it's a 463 i'm sure 500GE gears would be an answer.

·
Registered
85 300GD 83 300TD
978 Posts