Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
406 forst
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

After coveting a Mog for over 30 years I finally got my hands on a 1973 Unimog 406 with Werner forest equipment on it today! What a magnificent machine! It runs and drives great but I plan to do some rust treatment and body restoration before I take it out in public.

I have no actual experience with Unimog and until now, have had to be content living vicariously through lists like this. I look forward to learning how to drive it in the Sierra foothill forests (I live in Georgetown, several miles from the Rubicon), how to maintain it and how to repair the cab. I ordered an operators manual which should arrive soon. I don't know anyone who has a Unimog.

After learning about it, testing it and repairing some rust and very minor dents I plan to use it to remove brush and small trees from around rural homes for fire protection. If anyone on the list has experience or docs on Werner double winches I could use some advice on how to best operate and maintain them.

I bought the truck off ebay from a fellow near Chicago on and so far it is exactly as described. Looking at the bill of sale, I got a much better deal than he when he bought it over from Germany in Nov 2001.

However, my series of unfortunate shipping events, while comical, may serve as a warning to others.

---
The truck was to be shipped from a rural area near Chicago, IL to my rural home in the Sacramento, CA region. After finding that the recommended ebay shipping service wanted about $3000 to ship the truck I found a broker recommended by someone on a Mog mailing list who would ship the truck for $1100 on a semi-trailer.
Lesson 1: There is a lot of variability in the cost of shipping. Shop around and listen to the community.