Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1998 E320 Sedan
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Newbie here. This is great site and great sticky but for novice like me, need some assistance.

E320 Sedan. 24K miles (yes, original miles. That is my main problem)

1. Check Electronics / Check Engine Light

2. Brake Lining Wear : How do I know which pads to replace (front either side and or Rear.) If I have to replace only one side, do I have to replace both side or ok to just replace the defective ones. Also sensor...replace or keep and have to buy OEM sensor of =r can get aftermarket.

3. Bulb Lamp Defective...checked all front and back lights and they are all operating.

4. Power Steering fluid disappears over several months (with or w/o Driving)

5. A/C discharges every year. Now it does not hold for long.

Again, everybody here is very smart and have gone through this problems before...so please help me on what to get done. I have a local mechanic who is good but do not want to go to him blinded. Thanks

·
Registered
1959 220S cabriolet, 1983 240D original owner, 1999 E300 turbo diesel, 1988 560SL, 2003 SLK320
3,513 Posts
1. Get the codes read. AutoZone and Advanced Auto, etc. will read them for free.
2. If only one side is wearing out, you have an issue. Both sides should wear equally and be replaced at the same time. Tell us the year of your car. There are sensors on both front wheels and on at least one rear wheel. I always replace them. You have to if you are seeing the amber brake pad light.
3.Do a search - lots of posts and fixes for that. Likely one of your brake lights or maybe your license plate light.
4. Find the leak and fix it. It doesn't get used up.
5. Same as #4.

·
Registered
'01-E320 & 02-ST2
31,631 Posts
ewbie here. This is great site and great sticky but for novice like me, need some assistance.
Welcome. First things first, click user cp and add your vehicle and location to your profile, it's useful information.