Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm looking at a '99 e320 Elegance with 23K miles (37K km). I'm new to these cars. Car looks and feels really good, really solid. I have only two minor doubts, perhaps someone can offer insight:

- Throttle/transmission response is a little slow as you get going (from standstill or accelerating from low speed). Do you guys think that this is fairly normal for these cars or should I be worried? I was hoping for crisper response at low RPMs. Once under way, response is pretty good and it only gets better the faster you go. But it is a little tepid for stop-and-go driving. Car is bone stock and I'm hoping that replacing the air filter with a K&N might make a meaningful difference in response. Oh, and I've been driving it in the "S" (summer?) position.

Could this be a quirk of the adaptive tranny? I've been told that this car was a Sunday driver for sedate folks and I wonder if six years of that would take a while for the tranny to "unlearn" .

The other thing I don't quite like is that all four doors feel as if they've sagged a little bit. When you open them, they kind of stick/drag, and they need a real firm pull to close. There is no visual sag, the gaps between body and doors look well aligned and uniform all around. I figure this is just because the doors are so heavy that with time they sag a bit and a small adjustment will fix this, but I'd be worried if you guys think that these doors don't usually sag and I might be looking at a car that's been hit. I kind of doubt it, I cannot see any evidence of body/frame repair anywhere. The car drives very solid with no squeaks or other noises anywhere, except a little bit from the sunroof sliding cover, that one chatters a little bit at times.