Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry for the cross post, but i posted on the 124 list by accident...<br>
<br>
Anyway, Hi all,<br>
I'm a newbie, so I apologize if this has been gone over before.<br>
<br>
I just got a 1981 300D last night. It's really in good shape, 63K total miles, less than 30K on new (documented) engine. <br>
<br>
Anyway, it seems that after so many years in storage, some of the systems have ceased to function.<br>
<br>
Last night on the trip home, she blew the water pump/alternator belt, and because the dash lights don't work, i didn't notice the temp until she started steaming at a stoplight. I had her towed right away, but I'm wondering if i did any permanent damage. The temp did reach 120, but not the red. it ran and started fine. (i drove it off the tow truck and into my driveway.) I think the water pump may be seized - is this common?<br>
<br>
Secondly, I hear a loud creaking/groaning from beneath the passenger side when i turn corners. As i have never owned a MB before, and it was raining last night, i didn't get a chance to look and see what it may be. Any ideas?<br>
<br>
Thirdly, the power windows don't work. The drivers window does, thank god, but none of the others seem to want to function. Is this a case of dirty contacts? Common occurence?<br>
<br>
Lastly, the transmission seems a bit odd to me. First, it think it's revving too high before it shifts, second, it really jerks from 2nd to 3rd. Is there a fourth?<br>
<br>
I'm sorry to be asking such stupid questions, i was given the car by the executor of an estate who hadn't driven it more than 100 miles in the last 2 years. Before than, it sat in the garage for 3 years, being driven only to church on sunday. (the woman who owned it had alzheimers)<br>
<br>
Really lastly, it seems like there's no power, I mean, I know diesels are slow, but I really hesitated getting up to speed. Oh, speaking of speed, the speedo and dash lights don't work. Any ideas?<br>
<br>
TIA<br>
<br>