Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am kind of new to this. I picked up a 84 300d a few months back and have started to tinker with it a bit. She is pretty bouncy and needs some new shocks. I see on the Napa site they offer a mono tube shock wich I am assuming is the original and a gas shock. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what is the better choice? Is there any noticeable difference between the two?

Thanks

·
Registered
2003 Volvo V70 5 Speed
1,784 Posts
Most people on here say Bilstein are the best. However when I did my rear shocks a year and a half ago I Just used some McParts generic ones and am more than happy with the ride.

·
Registered
81' 300SD, 82' 300D
4,021 Posts
Most guys recommend Bilstein. The HD model or Heavy Duty gives you a firmer ride, while the Comfort as the name suggests gives a softer ride, not Cadillac soft, but still.

·
Premium Member
W-1-2-3 Go!
16,161 Posts
Unless your car has the HD (heavy duty) suspension setup from factory, your car will only require Bilstein comforts or Sachs Touring shocks.

Bilstein HD's are heavier duty as mentioned if you want a firmer ride. Chances are, comforts will be perfect if you want to regain the original feel.

Others have used KYB's, we had them once on 300TD. They were stiffer, and from experience owners have used the acronym KYB's to mean Keep Your Bilsteins.

·
Registered
1978 W123 300D, 1986 S124 250TD, 1987 W124 300D-T, 1965 W108 250SE, 114 280C, W126 300SDL,W123 300CD
83 Posts
Sir do you have the part #s of the comfort and heavy duty bilstein shocks? I recently replaced the rear and just want to make sure if i got the comfort coz it feels a little stiff when i pass by bumps.

Thanks

·
Registered
85 300D, 84 300D, 05 Mustang GT Vert, 11 VW JSW TDI, 95 Del Sol, 88 IROC, 95 Villager, 04 Wrangler
602 Posts
Bilstein Comforts FTW.

·
Registered
money pits of various forms
5,885 Posts
Bilstein HD for the win.

·
Registered
'82 300CD