Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to older Mercedes and am looking at a 2002 CLK 320 with 37k miles. It is a 1 owner car and I am wondering if anyone has advice on what I should look for (if anything) before I purchase it. Any and all feedback is appreciated!

·
Registered
1999 W208 CLK320
397 Posts
Looks like a fantastic find, 37K is super low mileage!

Normally the biggest problem is rust, but if it's a Florida car it should be OK. Make sure all equipment works, especially A/C, you want two keys with the car and both keys working, they're very expensive to replace (used ones can not be reprogrammed).

Service history would be nice and when it's running take a good look at the main crank pulley, there was a factory recall I think, occasionally they failed, but I think 2002 cars were already modified.

With such low miles, it's probably spent a lot of time sitting. So it would be an good idea to change all the fluids and check the age of the battery. With any Merc, prevention is better than cure, so it pays to keep on top of servicing and these cars are an easy DIY for most things.

I don't know what price they go for over there, but seems like a good car to me. If the price was right, I'd be tempted.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Looks like a fantastic find, 37K is super low mileage!

Normally the biggest problem is rust, but if it's a Florida car it should be OK. Make sure all equipment works, especially A/C, you want two keys with the car and both keys working, they're very expensive to replace (used ones can not be reprogrammed).

Service history would be nice and when it's running take a good look at the main crank pulley, there was a factory recall I think, occasionally they failed, but I think 2002 cars were already modified.