Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys..
Just bought this toy and theres a 100 things on my mind that i want to do...

First...
Rear suspension is self leveling and there is a clunk/thumping noise while going over bumps.

Second...
Factory stereo seems nice, but i'm sure theres a lot of room for improvement...
Mainly has anyone tried to replace the rear 6.5" subs with 8" ones ??
Also will upgrade the deck to something with navigation.

Third...
I believe the door close assist is not working, but the reverse "wands" come out along with the trunk lid handle that folds in and out.

Fourth...
Drivers head rest is not working, i hear the motor turning but no movement.
is it an easy fix ??

Fifth...
Previous Owner mentioned of poor heat in winter... what should i be looking at ??

I will be doing the work myself (i am a licensed tech ) but dont have too much experience in the MB Area :bowdown:, but from searching around and reading some of the threads on here seems like i will get to know her pretty good :p

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
OK..
Theres 11 Speakers in the car ... ( feel free to correct me if i'm wrong )
2 sets x 6.5" drivers in the rear of the car - 2 Ohm each
2 sets x 3.5" mid highs
1 set of 5.25" front doors
1 center tweeter behind the rear view mirror

Found that JL has a 6.5" Sub, both in 4 and 8 ohm version.
BUT still bigger is sometimes better, also how much room is there behind the drivers ??

NOTE:
All the speakers in the car will be replaced with some high quality ones.
Each end of the car will be ran by a 4ch amp, where 2ch will handle the mid highs and the other 2ch will do the mid lows.

·
Registered
92 500SEL to 01 E320T current 2014 lexus LS460
3,886 Posts
Lots of time and money invoved