Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello gentlemens

My name is Rudy and I am a new owner of a 300CE 1989 mercedes benz! Always liked the old w124 and I finally did a move.

Bought it for 2000$ from a friend of mine, he is also a w124 enthousiaste. The body is in great shape considering its age and the engine works well. Of course there will be work to do but I am willing to put the money and time to make here shine again!

I am far from a professional mechanics but I have been lurking this forum for a few years now I hopefully some of you will be able to help me out on my w124 project. ( and yes I will use the search button before making a new post ;))

So enough talk here are some pictures and what I am planning to do with it! :rolleyes:

First thing first, Tuning up the engine correctly, (wires, plugs, fluids, joints ect)
I need to change the front speakers, they are dead.
New brakes
New grill head light and maybe the front bumper
Interior (I need to refurbish the wood since it has faded with the sun, updated shift stick, updated seats)
AMG monoblock 18''
New springs
And new paint job ( probably next summer )

I will also keep you updated on the progress with pictures and maybe videos!

Sorry for my english!..

Cheers

·
Registered
2005 E55
785 Posts
Nice car!

Where in MTL are you located?

I got the same car in white, no euro lights though.

·
Registered
1990 Mercedes Benz 300E
1,336 Posts
I would hold off on the new paint as the last thing to do in a potentially long list of items that are required to get a 23 yr old car back to spec. Keep in mind that the 2-stage Standox paint used by MB back in the day before water-borne paints is still the most durable paint job you will ever see. Let the car grow on you and the paint further develop a graceful patina before dumping the big bucks on a paint job that will likely last just a fraction of the time the factory paint has endured.

·
Registered
E550W4