Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1992 500SEL
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings ladies and gents on Benzworld

My name is Alex, I'm 24 and I've been a long time lurker on these forums. As a heavy equipment mechanic, I love soaking in other people's knowledge.

I suppose that brings me to the reason I joined, I'm finally seeking the help from those who may have experienced something similar, and I'm surely hoping I just saved myself from a cooked M119.

Background info: 500SEL Build date 8/92 (not sure if it makes it a 92 or 93 model year)
I acquired the car from the second owner with 149k miles and just ticked over 162k miles. I have been tending to the things that a 25 year old Benz needs. Engine harness/TB harness is new, replaced oilers with metal ones, obviously belts, fluids, hoses, suspension bushings etc.

Yesterday serviced transmission and got 2 rear tires put on, car ran great on the way home (used the lift at work), shifted great, idled smoothly and quietly like an M119 should. I double checked the tranny fluid level before I parked her for the night thought all was great.

Started car this morning and heard a loud heavy clack from right bank of engine, popped hood quickly to see if it was the smog pump making some self-detonating noise but I could quickly tell it was coming from the cylinder head. Shut engine off (total run time was 15 sec or less) checked dipstick, oil was good, pulled off oil cap in the off chance I could see something through the hole and low and behold I pulled out a chunk of plastic.