Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2005 SLK350
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been searching the forum for some time trying to find a good intake mod and although I am no expert when it comes to these things, I noticed the main problem was with the short supply of cold air from the outside of the engine compartment.

I’ve looked through all the designs by the experts on the forum (extra hose additions with intakes by fog lights, cone filters, est.) The main problem with the cone intake was that you would suck in hot engine air when traveling at slow speeds or in traffic. So this idea just came to me after looking at all the posts and those goofy fake electric “turbos� they sell on Ebay.

I welcome the experts to tear this one apart… and just an FYI, I have not taken any measurements so this is just an elementary idea.

2000 - SLK230

> Remove the intake box, stock ram intake from the front grill
> Install a cone filter (paper/K&N… whichever) on the 3� intake (either replace the pipe or keep stock pipe)
> install smaller cone filter onto the S/C BOV (the one attached to the stock intake box lid) (does not apply for the newer SLKs)
> install an electric bilge blower with then intake facing the front grill of the car.
- The blowers come in various sizes, I found them in 3� and 4� inlet/out. If neither will fit in the spot of the old intake, one can use a flexible hose to route it in.

Such as this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7968682789&category=33600

- Then face the other end of the blower at your cone intake - S/C cone.

> use a sheet of aluminum to isolate the intake and the S/C cone from the rest of the engine compartment and run flush to the blower. Keeping only the pipes and cone in the heat shield. (aluminum sheet can be purchased at any hardware store and bent into shape)