Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1993 300 CE 98,000 miles "Honey"
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone identify this fluid? With the research I have done here (but in other forums) it seems to be coolant. I have tried to see where it is leaking from, but the "splash panel" hides the engine from underneath - it is leaking out the drain hole on the passenger side. I'm including two photos - one from when I went out to the car this morning, and a second from when I moved the car to see what the puddle was. I would remove the splash panel, but I'm no mechanic - can't really get under the car - and my husband would probably kill me later. And . . . last question -- how soon do I need to get this fixed? I have literally driven the car maybe 6 times.

Attachments

·
W124 Moderator
86 190E 2.3L 16V, 2 95 320TE's, 02 S500
12,746 Posts
Is there any "color" to the fluid? Odor? Problem just start? You don't need to be a mechanic to remove the splash shield. You need an 8mm socket on a 1/4" drive ratchet. There are 6 bolts that hold the shield up. Easiest to start with removing the rear two first, then center 2 and lastly the front two.

Jayare

·
Registered
86 300e Anke
1,252 Posts
Please remember that, with operation of the AC, condensate will be draining from the vehicle... usually when stopped/off.
With the shroud on, I cannot say where you would find it on the ground, as I currently have mine off... and it drains pretty-much straight down at the center (L/R) of the car just before the doors (front/back)...

Otherwise Id suggest simply monitoring all levels, including power steering, for lowering levels...

Hope this helps! :D

·
Registered
2001 C320 W203 Black on Black. 1997 E320 W210 Silver (RIP). 1995 E320 W124 Pearl Black.
595 Posts
Would that be the residual water that drain out from evaporator after you use the air conditioning.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5