Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey
Am from India and planning to buy a mercedes benz compact between (1968-1972).I am new to the world of mercedes so your suggestiona and advice will will definately help

1.I wanted to know where i can find all information about the models produced between the period.
2.I also wanted to know which is the most compact model in the range.
3.I am looking for square lights.

Any suggestions would also help
Thanking you in advance
Varun

·
Registered
64' 220SEc, 72' 300SEL 6.3, lots of parts
512 Posts
I would consider a W108 type 68-72 280S or SE for the reason of suspension durability, these models have a long-travel suspension, and king-pin front end.
Think about the road type you will be on.
These cars have off-road rally credentials.

·
Registered
1973 W115 200 /8
895 Posts
Hi. The Mercedes /8 , strich-acht, the compact or the 68-75 E-clas..
A beloved car has many names..
These are som useful links : (Regarding your first question.)
MB Strichachtclub Deutschland e.V. - Aktuelle Neuigkeiten
Stichwortverzeichnis Strich-Acht
Treffpunkt Strichacht - Angebote rund um den Mercedes Strich 8: Startseite
2. The series is called compact. So I'm not sure what you look for.. All 2 doors have the same measurements, and all 4 door have the same measurements.. So, none of them are more or less compact regarding size..
2. Alle /8 models were delivered with the big square headlights. Only difference is that USA-models were delivered with a square frame, with a round light on top and a lesser square orange light at the bottom. Where both are sticking a bit out..
The Euro-style of these lights have all square glass. Looking much better I think.

·
Registered
1973 W115 200 /8
895 Posts
The suspension for the /8 W115-W114 are the same as the SL 107..
And many people I know like the driving comfort of the /8 better than the W108-109.
But, that is of course up to the owner/driver..