Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2001 ML430
465 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title said, in short, I need to get the wiring pinout diagram for the transmission connector.

Now for the long answer. I am trying to come up with an easy way to calibrate the speedometer on our beloved ML's when we install larger off road tires. I am an engineer, machinist and mechanic. Sometimes this gets me in trouble. Anyway, I know the speedometer is driven from one of the computers via CAN, which unless you can rewrite the coding, there is no easy way to calibrate the speedometer. But, the signal has to get to the computer in a PPM format (Pulses Per Mile) like every other electronic vehicle for the last 20 odd years. The PPM signal can be altered by using one of a few devices like a speedohealer made for motorcycles to do the same thing. It intercepts the PPM and allows you to either slow it down, or amplify it depending on which way you need to adjust it. These devices can be had for about $75-$125.

I want to intercept the signal from the transmission before it enters the computer and is converted to a CAN signal. If I am successful, it will allow us to infinitely adjust our speedos for any tire size installed. The computer would be none the wiser.

So, either I need the pinout from the transmission, or a pinout of where the signal enters whatever computer module it goes into (probably the transmission computer). I will make any findings I discover public on this forum.

Thanks
Jay

·
Registered
2001 ML430
465 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Crap, forgot. My rig is a 2001 ML430, but this information is probably generic for all W163s.

·
Outstanding Contributor , SDS Guru
1998 MB E300TD, 1997 MB E36 AMG, 2001 MB E55 AMG
3,643 Posts
Translation: you can do it but you'll need to apply something like that speedoheal on all four ABS sensors.

At least older cars were simpler, W210 for instance, the rear left wheel was used as signal for the speedometer.

·