Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2005 E320 CDI 170k
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am looking at a brake job on my '99 E300TD. After looking at the DIY section, it seems pretty straighforward (I have done many disc brakes in the past) but the article did not address whether the rotors need to be resurfaced or not. When I worked in the business a long time ago, we always resurfaced them just so the pads would seat. Any thougthts???

:)
Warren

·
Registered
'95 E300 DIESEL, '91 600SEL, '92 600SEL
19,258 Posts
Do not resurface rotors on a MB unless want to have chassis vibration. Just inspect the rotor for thickness at each tire rotation and replace the rotor (and the pads obviously) when it is reaching minimum thickness as stamped on the edge of the rotor surface.

The rotors are designed to be disposible, hence their unusually low price.

Just get a good set of aftermarket ones such as ATE, Zimmerman, Balo, etc. Do not settle for the Autozone or Pep Boys items that come from China or who knows where.

·
Registered
1994 E320 Wagon,1999 E320 Wagon,2000 E 320 Wagon, MGB Track/Rally, ,1988 300E ,more....
6,019 Posts
Not enough meat on

the mb rotors,if the surface is mirror smooth you can break the glaze with a sanding pad and 120-140 grit paper in a cross hatch pattern on both sides and then dish soap and water wash followed by a good spray of brake cleaner.
If they are not smooth,yo will need to replace the rotors.autohausaz.com or if you track the car diversified cryo .
have fun
:bowdown:
not unusual to get at least 2 uses out of a set of rotors.

·
Registered
1994 E320 Wagon,1999 E320 Wagon,2000 E 320 Wagon, MGB Track/Rally, ,1988 300E ,more....
6,019 Posts
$50

for a pair of rear rotors off of ebay is like buying a maf off of ebay.Most likely chinese clones that can damage more than a fake maf,they can damage your life.