Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1998 ML320, 2008 ML350, 1979 450 SL
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys long time member/lurker, do not post too much but I do have a few questions for you guys now.

I have a 1998 ML with 113,000 miles on it and the ride has gotten progressively more and more bouncy and jarring as the miles rack up. It is time for me to do rear struts and front shocks. I am a fairly capable mechanic and plan on doing this project myself, but would really love to see a write up or a DIY on how to do it. However, no matter how I search I cannot find one. Can anyone help guide me towards a link for them?

Any brands or parts I should use or stay away from? I was looking into Monroe's for the fronts, does anyone have experience with those? What is the general thoughts for best front strut replacement?

I was looking online and found an ebay seller who is selling rear strut assemblies:MERCEDES BENZ ML 230 320 350 430 REAR STRUTS COMPLETE - eBay (item 110624913849 end time Dec-24-10 13:16:28 PST)
Any thoughts on these?

Also, is there anything else I need to buy to do these replacements? Spring seats or new bolts/nuts? Any advice would be very appreciated.

Thanks,

Kevin!

·
Registered
05 ML500 SE
1,482 Posts
I think the consensus is that monroe's are comfortable and affordable. Bilstein has come out with a 3rd update to their shocks for ML which are supposed to be a nice balance of comfort and control. Look for a part ending in H2 for the update. If I were doing it I would go bilstein.. but thats just because I want more control and flatter corners.

·
Purple Moderator
99 ML430, 00 ML320, 05 E500 4matic Wagon
22,126 Posts
I would go for the Bilstiens also. The H2s are much nicer than the original shocks
and have a lifetime warranty.
Your springs are probably just fine so just have a shop swap the shocks into the springs
using a proper spring tool and you will be a camper when you bolt the assembly back
into the truck.

·