Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
94 E420
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to the W140 world, but not to this forum. I usually hang out with the W124 guys [:)]

I am contemplating adding a W140 to the stable. I am interested in a S500 or S600 sedan. Other then usual used car stuff, is there any chronic problem areas on these cars one should watch for when purchasing? Any particular year’s better/worse then others? I am a little leery of the V12 -- maybe I should stick with the V8? -- but I would rather have the extra 70 or so HP the V12 offers. I don’t really care about the fuel mileage difference as this car will not be a daily driver.

Thanks in advance for your advice,

Colorado

·
Registered
98 BMW 528i
589 Posts
I have heard some nasty things about the wiring harnesses in the 600's. Im not sure how common this is however.

·
Registered
17 Posts
i got a 1996 S600 and is the best car i ever bought its a monter go with the S600 u will love it i have on mine 450 HPand 480 ftq [:)][:)]

·
Premium Member
1997 S600 (sold)
4,660 Posts
I haven't heard anyone say the V-12 is any more problematic

than any of the other engines offered in the W140. But, I suppose you can reasonably expect it to cost more to fix when there is a problem with it.

For W140 problems in general, I would search the forum. A few recent discussions w/in the last couple of months produced lists of known common issues. No need to write it all out again.