Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well first of all I would like to say hello to all being that this is my first post. Here is my problem I have a 79 300SD that started knocking real bad. I am a mechanic but never have worked on diesels. A friend that was a diesel tech in the navy for 20 years helped me narrow it down to a con rod bearing. I don't want to rebuild it because I don't have the time to do so. I need a long block or complete engine. I live in San Diego CA and need to find some one that has one. Any help would be great! Thanks again

·
Registered
6,118 Posts
Are you sure its not a injector pouring diesel into the cylinder? Crack each injector line and when you find the bad cylinder, swap the injector out to a different cylinder and see if the noise changes.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok I will check that out. My friend that worked on the diesels had me crack the lines on each injector intell the knock went away. I got to cyl 1 and the knock went away mostly when I released the line. I pulled the lower oil pan but there was no play in con rod 1. Thanks for the reply

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
When I release the psi at the injector the knock go's away 70%. I can still hear a small bit of knocking. When it first happened I was driving up a steep grade going to work and all of a sudden I lost a lot of power then it came back up.. odd. Once I got to work and in the parking lot I could hear the knocking noise loudly. At highway speeds the knocking go's away 80%. I figured spun con rod bearing since the car was not smoking badly like a bad injector would do and go's away at highway speeds. Even now the car has great power which also leads me to believe a bearing fail not a fuel delivery problem.

·
Registered
2,653 Posts