Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1978 300d
395 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I took my 300d in for inspection a few weeks ago, and everything but the muffler passed due to rust. He said he'd pass it without any muffler on at all, just a straight pipe would be fine. So before I take it to meineke (i can't do exhausts myself) could anyone tell me if they have experience with this? How loud is the exhaust without a muffler? It can't be much louder than the motor, but still :p Thanks!

Also, since my fogs are both dead, I was considering maybe just buying a set of the rectangle headlights instead of just replacing the fogs. Are these euros? i'm not sure what's what, I'm still a newbie. Could anyone tell me where I could find a set of these? Thanks!

·
Registered
1983 300D Turbo Diesel
59 Posts
I just replaced my exhaust. I went with a single muffler straight out. The old exhaust had holes all along the pipe and mufflers were shot.

The local shop was able to custom fit the pipe and all. $200 out the door.

It is much quieter and she feels a lil peppier too.

·
Registered
1979 240D 4 spd
320 Posts
I got a 240D but it can't be that different.. I did mine last week. Wasn't a bad job at all. Mine was all rusted together so I had to put two cuts in the pipe and pry off a section with a crowbar to loosen it up. Other than that, it was just putting new parts on.

I rode my car for the first month and a half with just a resonator (no muffler at all). It's not all that loud, but having one does make it a bit smoother. I would buy some parts online and give it a go. Gotta tear into it to do some learnin. I think you got it!

·
Registered
1985 380SE
1,939 Posts
I've heard that chain-link fence posts make good exhaust pipes.

That aside, have a look at this thread on headlights as it's full of good stuff: http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w123-e-ce-d-cd-td/1248885-headlight-thread.html